All posts by Brian Sainz

2021 Senior Inter-Club Playoffs

from Mark Robson, Senior Inter-club Captain

TGA Golfers:

I hate to report this but the TGA Senior Interclub season came to a screeching halt yesterday in the second round of the playoffs.

We lost our 2nd round playoff match against our crosstown rivals, Forsyth Country Club, in a closer than it sounds 42-38 match.

Tanglewood was down by 1 point with 1 hole to go in the final match of the day (at Tanglewood). We needed to win the hole to send the match into a playoff. In fact, the team at Forsyth was told we had won and to get ready for a playoff. Moments later, we were told that was a mistake, Forsyth had won, and the match was over.

Turns out one of the Forsyth players hit a career shot from the fairway bunker on 18 that somehow managed to stay on the front of the green instead of rolling 30 yards down the fairway and made his 2-putt for a net birdie. End of story, end of season.

We spotted FCC 26 strokes in the match, so we knew we had to play flawless golf to win. Both teams played well and the match could have gone either way, but we came up a little short. Hats off to Forsyth for securing the win and for their excellent sportsmanship.

I want to give a big shout out to Todd Brown and Patrick Hynes for their stellar play. They spotted FCC 14 strokes and won their match at Forsyth 11.5 to 8.5 with a dazzling best-ball score of 64.

Please congratulate our team for a great match:
Greg Howard and Jim Williams
Charlie Fisher and Hendrik Weichelt
Todd Brown and Patrick Hynes
Rodie Marovich and Mark Robson

Also, please congratulate all the guys who played this year and represented Tanglewood so well.

In addition to the previously mentioned players:
Dickie Brewer
Scott Wearn
Hugh Quinn
Brian Sainz
David Carr
Mark Hartson
Tom Birrittieri
Joe Crocker
Nick Hamner
Jerry Johnson
Eddie James

Thanks for your support,
Mark Robson
Team Captain
In it, to win it again…next year

2021 Split Sixes Results

from Mark Harper Jr., 1st VP


Saturday was a hot day, and the scores were as well!

In the first flight Greg Howard and Brian Nason won 1st gross with a 66. 2nd Gross was Shawn Cavanaugh and Hayes Smith with a 67, and 1st net was Kenny Flynn and Pete Schantz with a net 60.

Second Flight 1st Gross was Mike Utt and Steve Peterson with a 69. 2nd Gross was Stevie Blankenship with a 72. Brian Sainz and Glenn Makitka won 1st Net with a 60(scorecard playoff).

Third flight 1st Gross was BJ Richardson and Kyle Smith with a 67! Kenny Davis and Jeremy DeBord won 2nd Gross with a 71. And 1st Net was Brady Rockey and Dave Depietraopaola with a net 56.

Fourth Flight 1st Gross was Dan Mureness and Gene Cox with a 73, 1st net was Rod Enns and Joe Crocker with a 49, and 2nd net was Will Brewster and Randy Beddard with a 52.

Closest to pin on 3 was Pete Schantz and closest to pin on 11 was BJ Richardson!

Congrats to all the winners! Hopefully everyone had a lot of fun, hate I couldn’t be there. Thanks to everyone who helped in my absence!