2019 Texas Scramble Results

from Hugh Quinn, our 1st VP

The Texas Scramble was won by the team of Kenny Davis, Hayes Smith, Paul Meyer and Mike Gardner with a fifteen under par 125! Kenny had 7 natural birdies on his own ball, a truly great performance. Finishing second was the team of Barry Kennedy, Eddie James, Mark Hartson, and Mark DeBusk with a score of 128. In third place was the team of Fred Uberseder, Sam Crawley, Tom Long and Ron Tatro with 129.

The top 7 teams (out of 18) earned gift cards. The Championship Course played longer than normal due wet conditions over the past couple of days. It was the coolest weather day we have had in a long time with the temp barely getting to 70 degrees. There were a couple of showers early but steady rain began falling late with several teams still on the course, making it more challenging. All 72 players who signed up showed up for the event! Good job guys!

Closest to the Pin on #3 was won by the team of Uberseder, Crawley, Long and Tatro. Closest to the Pin on #11 was won by the team of Miller, Miller, Macon and Phillips

The Greenie on #7 was won by that Uberseder team again! And the Greenie on #16 was won by Nieters, Turner, Brad Kokoski, and Joe Brooks! CTPs and Greenies were worth $40 each.

Anyone who did not pick up their Gift Card today can check with an Officer when they are at the club and they will also be available at the next tournament.

Next tournament up is the Club Championship on the weekend of September 28-29. One week later is the Senior Club Championship on October 5-6. Seniors may play in both events but there is a $10 surcharge if they play in both, payable at the Senior CC. There will be flights in both championships. More details, including when sign ups open, will come out in a couple of weeks.

Good luck to those TGA players attempting to qualify for a couple of CGA tournaments coming up soon. And good luck to our Regular Interclub and Senior Interclub Teams who will be playing their first match in the playoffs soon.

Also, thanks to Hayes Smith and Steve Livingston made sure we had some beverages that are not normally provided for one-day events.

And of course, our TLGA ladies who helped out this morning. Thanks to all!

Please click here for full results.

2019 Wednesday Night League Champion

from Hayes Smith, 2nd VP

Congratulations to Charlie Fisher for winning the Wednesday Night League Championship by carding a Gross 43 for 18 points hold of Mark DeBusk (15) and Aaron Nelms (11).

Mark started strong with 2 net birdies and held a 1 point lead over Charlie after four holes, but a net double bogey the 6th coupled with Charlie’s net birdie created a 4 point swing that was too much for Mark to overcome. Aaron stumbled out of the gate with a couple of doubles over the first 5 holes but rallied with a net eagle on 6 to close the gap with 10 points over his last 4 holes. But it was Charlie’s steady play throughout that ended up winning the day as he finished with 2 net birdies and 2 net bogeys to go along with 5 pars.

Thanks to everyone for coming out and, as a reminder, we still have tee times blocked for the next few Wednesday nights if you would to continue getting some rounds in.